Remembering not to forget…or something like that

At the end of the movie When Harry Met Sally, Billy Crystal quips about the song Auld Lang Syne: “What does this song mean?  My whole life I don’t know what this song means.  I mean, ‘Should old acquaintance be forgot’.  Does that mean we should forget old acquaintances or does it mean if we happen to forget them we should remember them, which is not possible because we already forgot them!?”

Well, I don’t know about the song either, but it reminds me that there are many people and experiences I’d like to remember from 2008. It’s certainly been an interesting year, with far reaching political, economic and social implications. Personally, at work, this has been another year of meeting brilliant and interesting people, learning from them, and sharing some of their technologies and ideas here. And as 2008 closes with another balmy, blue-sky day here in Los Angeles, I’m also reminded why I like living in California and that my family and I are fortunate to be here.

So, no New Year’s resolutions as such — I don’t do that anymore, but some things I’ll work toward in 2009 include becoming even more of a minimalist than I already am, traveling, making it to the ocean more often, reading more books, and right here in this blog, I’d like to:

  • Write more – more often, and about more topics
  • Stay away from talk of social media and Web 2.0 (unless market forces make it impossible not to)
  • Look out for more emerging companies, technologies and ideas
  • Talk more about emerging markets, especially the places I’ve lived in and traveled to in Africa and Asia
  • Follow more smart people out there (please let me know if you’re one of them)

… Just a few things for me to ponder on December 31st, reflecting on old acquaintances and more, and looking forward to a great new year.

Happy New Year!

One response to “Remembering not to forget…or something like that

  1. Ah, new year’s resolutions. I’ve decided to just use the ones I made a year ago, since none of them got done. Oh well, here’s to being optimistic. Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

