Thinking of Sri Lanka

Given the recent onslaught of turmoil in Sri Lanka, I wonder when I’ll manage to return for a visit to the place where I was born. The stories are abundant of the killing, the homelessness and suffering. It has been at least two decades since I was last in Colombo with my family, and it’s taken me many years of growing up to grow into my culture and truly appreciate it.

03calcutta600The New York Time’s bureau chief in India, Somini Sengupta, captured for the Times her return to her birth place of Calcutta and I read her account, which is filled with great tips for travelers, pondering what my own return to Sri Lanka might be like.

Leave a Reply

